Recent Events


The Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center (SQCC) regularly cosponsors events with other institutions around Washington, D.C. and across the U.S. SQCC participates in festivals and workshops with other organizations in order to fulfill its mission of educating Americans about Omani culture and supporting cross cultural exchange between the US and Oman. These events range from our SQCC annual conference, held in partnership with a different university each year, to multicultural festivals and events hosted by organizations like the Smithsonian's Freer and Sackler Galleries (Washington, D.C.), Arab Festival Orlando (Orlando, FL) and the Children's Museum of Manhattan (New York City, NY). SQCC also annually holds a booth at the National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) annual conference, where SQCC promotes its Indian Ocean in World History website, a free classroom resource, to K-12 educators.

Please check out our photo gallery and the links below to learn more about our previous events.
Sort By:
Event Title
Event Date


American University Arabic Department Visits SQCC

Wednesday, February 12, 2020
On Tuesday 12 February, SQCC received students from the Arabic Department at American University in Washington, D.C.





2020 EAP - LaSalle Education Campus visits SQCC

Friday, January 24, 2020
LaSalle Education Campus visits SQCC again as part of the 2019-2020 Embassy Adoption Program.





Close-Up Students Visit SQCC

Wednesday, January 22, 2020
On 21 January, students from Close-UP Washington visit SQCC for an exhibition tour and a lecture on Oman.





SQCC Revisits LaSalle-Backus Education Campus for 3rd Session of EAP

Thursday, December 19, 2019
On Thursday 19 December, the Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center (SQCC) visited the fifth graders of LaSalle-Backus Education Campus for the third session of the Embassy Adoption Program (EAP).





Embassy Adoption Program, Second Visit

Tuesday, December 17, 2019
On Tuesday 17 December, SQCC visited 5th graders of LaSalle-Backus Education Campus School for the Embassy Adoption Program.





SQCC Visits Sitar Arts Center

Monday, December 16, 2019
On Monday 16 December, SQCC visited Sitar Arts Center to teach youth about Oman and the Arabic language.





2019 World Arabic Language Day at SQCC

Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Guests gathered at SQCC on Tuesday, 10 December for an early celebration of World Arabic Language Day. This year's theme was "The Arabic Language Through Music" which featured a public lecture with live demonstrations, musical performances, and a reception.





2019 8th Annual Winternational Celebration in Washington, D.C.

Thursday, December 5, 2019
On Thursday, 5 December, SQCC represented the Omani Embassy at the 8th annual Winternational Celebration in Washington, D.C.





Frederick Community College Student Group Visits SQCC

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
On Wednesday, 4 December, SQCC welcomed adult continuing learning students from Frederick Community College.





SQCC Launches Book Club

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
The Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center Library hosted its inaugural session of the SQCC Book Club on 4 December, 2019.






Page size:
select